Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search



The white hare  Cover Image Book Book

The white hare / Jane Johnson.

Record details

  • ISBN: 9781982140939
  • ISBN: 1982140933
  • Physical Description: 388 pages : illustrations ; 24 cm
  • Edition: Simon & Schuster Canada edition.
  • Publisher: Toronto, Ontario : Simon & Schuster Canada, 2022.

Content descriptions

Summary, etc.:
"For fans of Alice Hoffman and Kate Morton, The White Hare is a spellbinding novel about mothers and daughters finding a new home for themselves, the secrets they try to bury, and the local legends that may change their lives. In the far west of Cornwall lies the White Valley, which cuts deeply through bluebell woods down to the sea at White Cove. The valley has a long and bloody history, laced with folklore, and in it sits a house above the beach that has lain neglected since the war. It comes with a reputation and a strange atmosphere, which is why mother and daughter Magdalena and Mila manage to acquire it so cheaply in the fateful summer of 1954. Magda has grand plans to restore the house to its former glory as a venue for glittering parties, where the rich and celebrated gathered for cocktails and for bracing walks along the coast. Her grown daughter, Mila, just wants to escape the scandal in her past and make a safe and happy home for her little girl, Janey, a solitary, precocious child blessed with a vivid imagination, much of which she pours into stories about her magical plush toy, Rabbit. But Janey's rabbit isn't the only magical being around. Legend has it that an enchanted white hare may be seen running through the woods. Is it an ill omen or a blessing? As Mila, her mother, and her young daughter adjust to life in this mysterious place, they will have to reckon with their own pasts and with the secrets that have been haunting the White Valley for decades."-- Provided by publisher.
Additional Physical Form available Note:
Issued also in electronic format.
Subject: Mothers and daughters > Fiction.
Family secrets > Fiction.
Rabbits > Fiction.
Cornwall (England : County) > Fiction.
Genre: Historical fiction.

Available copies

  • 1 of 1 copy available at Skagit Evergreen Libraries. (Show)
  • 1 of 1 copy available at Upper Skagit Library District. (Show)
  • 1 of 1 copy available at Upper Skagit Library.

Holds

  • 0 current holds with 1 total copy.
Show Only Available Copies
Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Upper Skagit Library JOH 1014545 New Adult Fiction Available -


Additional Resources