Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search



I am Kavi  Cover Image Book Book

I am Kavi / Thushanthi Ponweera

Summary:

"1998, Colombo. The Sri Lankan Civil War is raging, but everyday life must go on. At Kavi's school, her friends talk about the weekly Top 40, the Backstreet Boys, Shahrukh Khan, Leo & Kate... and who died--or didn't--in the latest bombing. But Kavi is afraid of something even scarier than war. She fears that if her friends discover her secret--that she is not who she is pretending to be--they'll stop talking to her. I want to be friends with these / happy, / fearless, / girls / who look like they / belong. So I could also be / happy, / fearless, / and maybe even / belong. Kavi's scholarship to her elite new school was supposed to be everything she ever wanted, but as she tries to find some semblance of normalcy in a country on fire, nothing is going according to plan. In an effort to fit in with her wealthy, glittering, and self-assured new classmates, Kavi begins telling lies, trading her old life--where she's a poor girl whose mother has chosen a new husband over her daughter--for a new one, where she's rich, loved, and wanted. But how long can you pretend to be someone else? This dazzling novel-in-verse comes from an astonishing new talent who lived through the civil war herself. Perfect for fans of Jamine Warga, Supriya Kelkar, and Rajani LaRocca, I Am Kavi centers a powerful South Asian voice, and stars an unforgettable heroine each and every one of us can relate to" -- Publisher's description

Record details

  • ISBN: 9780823453658
  • ISBN: 0823453650
  • Physical Description: 219 pages ; 22 cm
  • Edition: First edition
  • Publisher: New York : Holiday House, [2023]

Content descriptions

Target Audience Note:
Ages 8-12. Holiday House
Grades 4-6. Holiday House
Subject: Honesty > Juvenile fiction
Schools > Juvenile fiction
Novels in verse
Sri Lanka > History > Civil War, 1983-2009 > Juvenile fiction
Colombo (Sri Lanka) > Juvenile fiction
Genre: Historical fiction
Novels in verse.
Historical fiction.
War fiction.
Coming-of-age fiction.
Romans en vers.

Available copies

  • 0 of 1 copy available at Skagit Evergreen Libraries. (Show)
  • 0 of 1 copy available at Upper Skagit Library District. (Show)
  • 0 of 1 copy available at Upper Skagit Library.

Holds

  • 0 current holds with 1 total copy.
Show Only Available Copies
Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Upper Skagit Library PON 1020071 Juvenile Fiction Checked out 08/03/2024


Additional Resources